FREDERICK'S SEAFOOD GALLEY & TIKI ROOM
In 1842, Capt'n Griff and his crew landed in Frederick thriving with ambition and bravery. Armed with only four walls and 100 cases of his [soon to be famous] fries, he trudged forward on his mission to satify lovers of fresh seafood with sandwiches of breathtaking proportions. The first years were rough, but together with Griff on the bell and Clambake on the floor, Griff's Landing grew in notoriety from as far north as Thurmont to as far south as Urbana.
When the war between the States was over, Griff renovated the tunnels below the restaurant to make more kitchen space; after Harriet Tubman assured him she no longer needed the underground retreat. It was here that his experiments began to perfect the Crab Cake recipe. Ironically, it was Clambake who helped Capt'n Griff, exclaiming "Grr-Grr" referring to the Crab Cake recipe. Thus Griff's G-G-Greatest was named!
Clambake died quietly on St. Patrick's Day 1902. Captain Griff was forced to expand his kitchen crew to keep pace with the growing demand for FREDERICK'S FRESHEST SEAFOOD GALLEY.